6 months after PRK

Near the beginning of June this year I had laser eye surgery to correct my vision. The type of surgery I had is called PRK; it differs from LASIK in that no flap is cut in the cornea, which has long-term benefits but also leads to a longer recovery time in the short term.  It took probably three weeks until I was really comfortable reading on a regular basis, and there’s been a slow and steady improvement since then.

Overall, I love it!  I can read shampoo labels in the shower now, and I can buy cheap sunglasses and experiment with different styles.  It’s nice not to have to worry about lenses on my face and whether they’re clean.  Sex is much better without glasses, too.  Even if your lover likes how you look with them on, it’s really awkward when they get in the way in certain situations, so it’s really nice to be able to see without them.

I just got out of a follow-up appointment with my optometrist. Apparently I still have some measurable astigmatism and farsightedness (I used to be nearsighted, so that’s different), but it’s so minor that if I walked in as a new patient, he wouldn’t see the point of even considering prescribing me lenses.  I do wish I had superhuman laser vision that could pick out a gnat from a mile away, but I’m pretty happy with what I got.

Leave a Reply

